​EA DICE Releases First Free 'Battlefield V' DLC, 'Overture'

Battlefield V players can now jump into the first free Tides of War DLC pack, Chapter 1: Overture, following a very slight delay.

Overture was due to release on 4 December - which is only yesterday, tbf - but "rather than create issues in the game, we're holding the update for the time being," DICE had explained on Twitter.

Then late last night (UK time), the developer confirmed Chapter 1 will be ready for 5 December, today, and released update and download instructions on the Battlefield forum.

"We're proud to inform you that the Battlefield V Tides of War Chapter 1: Overture Update has been fully approved - all issues have been resolved and we're ready to release," DICE said.

But if you logged into Battlefield V earlier today and didn't see Overtutre, don't worry. It rolled out separately on each platform - PC from 1am PT/4am ET/9am GMT, PS4 at 2am PT/5am ET/10am GMT, and Xbox One at 3am PT/6am ET/11am GMT - and you may have just missed it.

It also takes around an hour to download, says DICE. So if you began installation as it went live, you should be able to play Chapter 1 now. Providing your internet connection is better than mine, that is.

According to its lengthy patch notes, "this update adds a new War Story titled The Last Tiger, a brand new multiplayer map called Panzerstorm, and a Practice Range where you can hone your skills - and more."

DICE also implemented several changes based on feedback from you guys, the Battlefield community, and fixed multiple reported bugs. This includes:

- A bug where weapons would stay locked even if the player had reached the required level to obtain them.

- Improvements for infinite loading screens. Should be drastically reduced with this update.

- An issue where vehicle passenger gunner turret animations would not align with where the player was aiming.

- Players no longer get into a soft hang when viewing assignments in-game.

- Tweaks to the Conquest Soft Catch-up mechanics. The catch-up will now only be activated when the losing team is very far behind instead of rounds that are fairly close.

Take aim in the Practice Range thanks to this 'Battlefield V' DLC. Credt: EA/DICE
Take aim in the Practice Range thanks to this 'Battlefield V' DLC. Credt: EA/DICE

It's worth reading the full patch notes if you're after a more in-depth look at the update. Be warned - there's flipping loads in there, such as the story behind The Last Tiger, in which "gameplay is built around tank combat in an urban environment."

What do you think about this news? Do you play Battlefield V? Are you enjoying it? Have you been waiting for this DLC? Make sure you let us know.

Featured Image Credit: EA/DICE

Matthew McGladdery

Matthew McGladdery graduated with a BA in Broadcast Journalism from Salford University, where he worked at Revolution 96.2, Global Radio, and Fleetwood F.C. When he left university, he took on the role of co-editor for the Salfordian and worked as freelancer for the likes of BBC Sport. He continues to work in sport but loves talking all things Xbox, PS4, and PC just as much.

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock close comment cursor email facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window phone play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp logoInline safari-pinned-tab Created by potrace 1.11, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2013