That time has come again when Snapchat receives an update and everyone loses their shit.
We were given the slo-mo, fast forward and reverse features for videos, followed by the face filters, but the picture messaging app's latest change is its biggest, and it changes everything.
When it began, the beauty of Snapchat was that whatever you sent would be a heat of the moment thing, and then disappear forever. However, soon you'll be able to save any of the snaps you send, whether it be pictures or videos.
The update is called 'Memories' and allows you to create a bank of your favourite snaps so that you can repost them in the future, either to your story, or to a friend.
There will be a new button in the bottom left corner of the screen, alongside the timer, and will allow you to access your memories.
Inside the memories section there is also a password-protected area called 'For My Eyes Only', to 'avoid awkward moments when a friend stumbles upon a Snap meant just for you'.
I can't help but feel this defeats the object of Snapchat. It's primarily used for drunk people in clubs belting out Don't Look Back in Anger at the end of the night with all their mates.
The new update will be available over the next month to selected users, according to Snapchat.
Words by Mark McGowan
Featured image credit: PA