ASDA Are Going To Release A Vegan Cheeseboard This Christmas
Before we get going with this one - It's still August, so this subject isn't supposed to be up for discussion yet. However, this is so important that I'm going to break the rules and talk about Christmas.
OK, so most people - well, most rational people - won't be aware that it's actually 129 days until Christmas as of today, but some people will be ticking the days off their calendar already.
Christmas is a time to come together, where all of your family get together and try to enjoy each other's company (massive emphasis on the word TRY).
It's also a time for inclusion, so that means accepting everyone for who they are, even if they're a vegan.
Leading the charge for this kind of acceptance this year will be the popular supermarket ASDA. They're bringing out a vegan cheeseboard for the non-dairy eater in your life.
Whilst a vegan cheeseboard might seem like a contradiction in terms to many people, they're still going to try and capitalise on the growing number of people choosing to live their lives without animal products and bring it out for the festive season.
It's going to feature a selection of three vegan 'cheeses' that contain no milk, no rennet and, presumably, very little of the things that normal cheese has in it.
There will be a 'mature cheddar' that they're describing as full-bodied and smooth, a garlic and chive 'mature cheddar' option, and a 'wensleydale' and cranberry offering.
I know what you're thinking - how much is all of this delicious (sort of) cheese going to set me back?
More Like ThisMore Like This
Well, it's not exactly going to be tough on your pocket at that most financially trying time of year. It's going to sell for £5. That's a decent amount of vegan cheese for your cheddar.
It'll be available in all ASDA supermarkets from November 22nd - which is pretty much the start of the cheeseboard season anyway - so you'll have to wait until then to get your hands on one.
In case you're thinking "how on earth do they make vegan cheese?" - let me tell you.
It can be made from a few things, but it is predominantly made from seeds such as sunflower and sesame. Either that, or nuts like pine nuts, cashews, and almonds.
It's actually been available since the 1980s, but most people would tell you that it has come on leaps and bounds since then.
For the rest of us, there is still ACTUAL cheese that we can enjoy at Christmas. In fact, the more vegans there are, the more cheese there will be for the rest of the family.
God bless us, every one.
Featured Image Credit: ASDA
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read