Advert

WhatsApp Has Just Introduced A Delete Function That Lets You Unsend Messages

Published 
| Last updated 

WhatsApp Has Just Introduced A Delete Function That Lets You Unsend Messages

Every so often, technology makes an advance and life is never the same again - Tim Berners Lee introducing the World Wide Web, Steve Jobs bringing out the iPhone, Zuckerberg and The Facebook.

And now, at long last, the feature that every single person who has ever sent a drunk message truly wants: a delete function for WhatsApp.


Advert

Finally.

WhatsApp unsend function, which is officially called 'Delete for Everyone' has been in development for months, and is finally being rolled out to users. You can almost hear the collective cheer from irresponsible drinkers who like to send 'U UP?' at 4am to their ex-partners, can't you?

Using the feature, WhatsAppers can completely remove a sent message, meaning neither you nor the recipient will be able to read it, but you better be quick, because you've only got seven minutes to remove it. I think seven minutes is plenty of time for the 'what the fuck did I do that for?' regret to kick in.


Advert

You'll also both need to be using the latest version of WhatsApp; usually I never update apps, I'm one of those people, but I think I'll make an exception here. However, the rollout of the feature is 'very slow', according to the Independent.

As well as text-based messages, Delete for Everyone, will also get rid of gifs, videos and images, perfect if you've accidentally sent a nude to your boss.

To use the feature, tap and hold the message you want to remove, then choose 'Delete' from the menu and press 'Delete for Everyone'. Easy.

Advert


According to WhatsApp: "This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake." (Like a declaration of your undying love).

"Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with 'This message was deleted' in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see 'This message was deleted' in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone."

Advert

The app will let you know if for, whatever reason, the delete didn't work and warns users that even successful deletions might have been seen by the other person - but unless they screenshot it, you can just deny it for the rest of your life.

Source: Independent

Featured Image Credit: PA

Topics: Phones and Gadgets, Technology, whatsapp

Claire Reid
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

News

George Floyd: Derek Chauvin Found Guilty Of Murder

14 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

News

People Are Praising Darnella Frazier For Filming Derek Chauvin Murder George Floyd

3 hours ago