ladbible logo

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Queensland Is Opening Its Borders To Everyone But Victoria On July 10

Queensland Is Opening Its Borders To Everyone But Victoria On July 10

Start planning that getaway.

Queensland has announced it will reopen its borders and accept people from every state and territory except for Victoria from next month.

The big date has been set for July 10.

People arriving into the Sunshine State will have to sign a declaration form before they enter. People who lie on the form can cop a fine of up to $4,000.

Queensland will also ease some of its social distancing measures at the end of this working week. From Friday, there will be a 100 person cap on public gatherings, which includes, house parties, funerals and gyms. Concert venues will be allowed to accomodate 50 per cent of its normal capacity and casinos have been given the green light to reopen.

While the Sunshine State is happy to welcome people with open (socially distanced) arms, residents are being warned not to travel too far south.

Deputy premier Steven Miles has told Queenslanders not to travel to Victoria as the state sees its 14th consecutive day of new coronavirus cases.

He said: "Our message to Queenslanders is please do not go there. Our message to Victorians is please do not come here until these outbreaks are under control. They've had more locally acquired cases than Queensland has had in total.

"They've had more than six times the number of cases, where the source of the infection could not be located, than we have had.

"They are managing multiple outbreaks on multiple fronts."

Featured Image Credit:

Topics: News, Australia