To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

The European Union Agrees To Welcome Australian Tourists Once Our Borders Reopen

The European Union Agrees To Welcome Australian Tourists Once Our Borders Reopen

Fourteen other countries have been permitted to travel to the EU.

Stewart Perrie

Stewart Perrie

The European Union has agreed to welcome tourists from 15 countries outside their 27-member states.

Thankfully, Australia is one of those lucky countries, meaning we will be allowed to visit a whole bunch of nations once our borders reopen.

Currently, Australia is shut off from the rest of the world and people are only allowed to leave if they fulfil a specific criteria.

Some of the reasons include travelling to seek urgent medical attention that cannot be supplied in Australia, travelling in response to the coronavirus outbreak, for compassionate or humanitarian grounds, going away to conduct critical business or unavoidable personal business.

The Australian government hasn't outlined when those restrictions will be eased, but it's probably not going to be in the short term.

In addition to Australia, people from Algeria, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay will also be allowed to visit the 27 countries that make up the EU.

The EU motion is only an advisory though, meaning each member state will have the ability to refuse anyone. The decree will kick into force tomorrow and the list of accepted countries will be updated every two weeks.

At the moment, the US, Russia and Brazil aren't on the list, presumably because they are dealing with some pretty startling coronavirus case numbers.

Featured Image Credit: Pixabay

Topics: News, Australia