Advert

Latest

4 hours ago
Advert
7 hours ago
Advert

Most Popular

2 days ago
Advert

Top Umpire Says That England Shouldn't Have Won Cricket World Cup

Top Umpire Says That England Shouldn't Have Won Cricket World Cup

A former international cricket umpire and member of the committee that sets the rules in cricket has said that England only won the Cricket World Cup yesterday as a result of an officiating error.

Australian Simon Taufel, who was voted ICC Umpire of the Year five times, said that a freak incident in which a fielder's throw struck Ben Stokes' bat and ran to the boundary should have been awarded as five runs instead of the six that he received.

Advert

Basically, England were awarded two runs for passing between the wickets twice, and four runs for the ball fortuitously ricocheting off Stokes to the boundary ropes.

Stokes apologised afterwards. Credit: PA
Stokes apologised afterwards. Credit: PA

However, Taufel says that an 'error of judgement' was made by the match officials when they made their decision yesterday.

Taufel told Fox Sports Australia: "They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six.

"It's a clear mistake ... it's an error of judgement."

Advert

Let me explain.

Rule 19.8 of the MCC rulebook - by which cricket is governed - states:

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be

- any runs for penalties awarded to either side

- and the allowance for the boundary

- and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

He didn't know what was happening, just got lucky. Credit: PA
He didn't know what was happening, just got lucky. Credit: PA

In case you're still not sure, what that means is that because the runners hadn't crossed when the throw came in, the second run should not have counted.

Oh, and England should have had tailender Adil Rashid on strike for the remaining balls, not Stokes.

Whilst Taufel admits that the umpires had a split second to make an incredibly difficult decision, and a lot to consider in that short time, by the letter of the law, it was a mistake.

He's also keen to say that it's not fair to the officials to say that this particular moment decided the result of the match overall.

New Zealand can feel a little bit hard done by. Credit: PA
New Zealand can feel a little bit hard done by. Credit: PA

He continued: "In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw.

"Obviously TV replays showed otherwise."

That would have meant that Rashid would have needed to hit four runs from the last two balls. Who knows what would have happened?

Either way, it didn't matter. England were awarded the runs, took the match to a super over, and won from there.

England rejoice after winning. Credit: PA
England rejoice after winning. Credit: PA

Fair and square. It's in the papers now.

Featured Image Credit: PA

Topics: uk news, Interesting

Tom Wood

Tom Wood is a LADbible journalist and Twin Peaks enthusiast. Despite having a career in football cut short by a chronic lack of talent, he managed to obtain degrees from both the University of London and Salford. According to his French teacher, at the weekends he mostly likes to play football and go to the park with his brother.” Contact Tom on [email protected]

 

Next Up

Harry Potter Obsessed Fiancée Flaunts Hogwarts-Themed Engagement Ring

Harry Potter Obsessed Fiancée Flaunts Hogwarts-Themed Engagement Ring

4 months ago