• Home
  • News
  • Entertainment
  • LAD Originals

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

30 countries Brits could be denied entry to unless they pay new mandatory fee

Tom Wood

| Last updated 

30 countries Brits could be denied entry to unless they pay new mandatory fee

There are 30 countries that British travellers might have to pay a mandatory fee to enter next year.

Unfortunately for British passport holders, there are quite a lot of really popular tourist destinations on there, including – but by no means limited to – Spain, Italy, France, Germany, and the Netherlands.

So, if you’re looking out of the window at the leaden grey skies and drizzly rain that's been squatting over the UK for a while now, it might be time to take the leap and head for some sun, before you’re made to pay an added fee to travel there.

Admittedly, it’s not a massive amount, so if you can afford to go on holiday, you’ll be able to afford the charge.

Travellers on UK passports in Europe will need an ETIAS permit. Credit: Pabloarias Imágenes/Getty Images
Travellers on UK passports in Europe will need an ETIAS permit. Credit: Pabloarias Imágenes/Getty Images

It’s going to be about seven euros – about six quid – that you otherwise wouldn’t have had to pay.

Of course, the situation in some parts of Europe is the opposite at the minute, as extreme heat and wildfires continue to devastate parts of Greece, leading to evacuations of tourists.

Full list of countries included on the list below


It’s all part of something called the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) through which British holidaymakers will have to obtain a travel permit before heading to some European destinations.

After being delayed a number of times, it now seems as if the system will come into force after the 2024 Olympic Summer Games in Paris.

Some people will be able to get a permit free of charge, such as those over 70 and under 18, but everyone else will need a permit to travel in the EU.

UK Parliament states: "ETIAS will apply to British and other non-EU/non-Schengen country citizens travelling to all EU Member States, with the exception of Ireland.


“It will also apply for travel to the four non-EU Schengen countries."

The permit will be given electronically, meaning no visa will be required to enter the countries, but Brits will not have freedom of movement within the Schengen Area still.

The ETIAS website adds that ‘citizens from the United Kingdom will be required to complete an ETIAS application prior to boarding an aircraft, sea carrier, or coach vehicle for Europe, and this includes travellers who will only be transiting in Europe en route to other destinations’.

Still, blue passports though, eh? Credit: Pexels
Still, blue passports though, eh? Credit: Pexels

The permit must then be presented at passport control, or entry to the country may be refused.

Brits with a permit will be able to stay for 90 days in Europe within a 180-day period, and it’s valid for three years – or until a passport expires – so you can travel Europe as many times as you want before that expiration date.

Some reasons exist that could see some denied ETIAS permits, including being on a travel watchlist or being a convicted criminal.

Here’s the full list of countries that you’ll need a permit for:


· Austria

· Belgium

· Bulgaria

· Croatia

· Cyprus

· Czechia

· Denmark

· Estonia

· Finland

· France

· Germany

· Greece

· Hungary

· Iceland

· Italy

· Latvia

· Liechtenstein

· Lithuania

· Luxembourg

· Malta

· The Netherlands

· Norway

· Poland

· Portugal

· Romania

· Slovakia

· Slovenia

· Spain

· Sweden

· Switzerland

Featured Image Credit: Ethan Wilkinson/Pexels/Pabloarias Imágenes/Getty Images

Topics: UK News, World News, Travel, Money, Brexit

Tom Wood
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Real reason Rowan Atkinson appears twice in Love Actually

a minute ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Northern Lights to be visible from the UK tonight

2 days ago