| Last updated
England made it through to their first major final since 1966 yesterday (7 July), having beaten Denmark 2-1 after the tense game went into extra time - when Raheem Sterling was fouled in the penalty box as he was closed down by Joakim Maehle and Mathias Jensen.
While Kane's initial shot was blocked by the firm hands of keeper Kasper Schmeichel, he was able to secure the winning second goal on the rebound.
However, it turns out that moments before the triumph, Sterling had come within inches of an extra ball on the pitch - which many fans watching at home had noticed.
One person tweeted: "THERE WERE TWO BALLS ON THE PITCH WHEN PENALTY WAS CALLED?!"
Another said: "Two balls on the pitch but play was never stopped .... I actually can't believe their luck uno."
Two balls on the pitch and referee didn't stop play. Denmark robbed by England. :yen: :yen: :yen: #EURO2020 pic.twitter.com/tKn57sCxm2
- Ram (@cricketfan06) July 8, 2021
There were two balls on the pitch and the referee let the game go on and a light penalty was given https://t.co/BPt0SbQCIM pic.twitter.com/Uo52GSdmAy
- Bball Pundit:flag_ke: (@apache14) July 8, 2021
two balls on the pitch but play was never stopped .... i actually can't believe their luck uno pic.twitter.com/y0XajqHVBr
- Matt_CFC CHAMPIONS OF EUROPE HAHAHAHAHAHA:star::star::flag_ie: (@MattCFC6) July 8, 2021
A third wrote: "Two balls on the pitch in build-up to penalty!"
Another added: "Two balls on the pitch and then Sterling dives... referees are stealing a living."
FIFA rules stipulate that play must be stopped if a ball 'interferes' with the action.
According to the official rules for referees, once an 'extra ball, object or other animal enters the field of play', the referee must:
And the extra ball wasn't the only reason why many people feel the penalty was controversial, with others arguing that Sterling had not been fouled.
After the game, Danish boss Kasper Hjulmand said: "We're very, very disappointed, and it's hard for me to talk about. Maybe it will easier for me to say how I feel in a few days.
"We're just very disappointed that we were so close to the final.
"We're disappointed it was decided that way... it was a penalty that shouldn't have been a penalty, and that annoys me right now. We're disappointed, we're very disappointed.
"It's one thing to lose a game, that happens, but losing this way is just a disappointment, because these guys have fought a lot.
"It's bitter, I think we have to digest this before we can describe these feelings, but it's a bitter way to leave a tournament."
But England winger Sterling maintains that he did get tripped up, a decision backed up by VAR.
He told ITV: "I went into the box and he stabbed his right leg out.
"As long as it goes into the back of the net, that's all that matters."
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read