Novak Djokovic fined £6,000 for smashing his racket during Wimbledon final
| Last updated
Novak Djokovic has been fined $8,000 (£6,117) for smashing his racket against the post of the net during Sunday's men's singles final at Wimbledon, the All England Lawn Tennis Club has confirmed.
Serbian star Djokovic, 36, had looked confident as the match began, but started to argue with the umpire and engage with the crowd during a 27-minute game midway through the third set.
Later in the match, he smashed his racket on the net post - an outburst that has now landed him with a penalty for 'racket abuse', having been told to cough up £6,117.
In his winner's speech, Spain's Alcaraz said his victory was a 'dream come true'.
“I did it for myself, not for the tennis generation,” he said.
“[But] beating Novak at his best, in this stage, making history, being the guy to beat him after 10 years unbeaten on that court, is amazing for me.
“It’s something that I will never forget. It’s great for the new generation, as well, I think, to see me beating him and making them think that they are capable to do it as well.
“It’s the happiest moment of my life. I think it’s not going to change for a long time. Beating Novak, winning the Wimbledon championship, is something that I dream about since I started playing tennis.”
A more composed Djokovic gave Alcaraz full credit during his runner-up speech.
He said: “Good afternoon everyone. Not so good for me, but good for Carlos.
“I thought I’d only have trouble with you on clay and hard court, not grass. But it’s a different story from this year. Congrats, an amazing way to adapt to the surface.
"As for me, obviously, you know, you never like to lose matches like this. But, you know, I guess when all the emotions are settled I have to still be very grateful because I've won many, many tight and close matches in the past here," he continued.
"To name a few: 2019 against Roger [Federer] in that finals as well I was a match point down, so you know, maybe I should have lost a couple of finals that I won, so I think this is even Stevens."