WhatsApp Developing Feature That Deletes Media After It Has Been Viewed
| Last updated
It's called the 'Expiring Media' feature and it was first noticed by the website WaBetaInfo, who reported that it will cause media to disappear after being viewed within a chat, in a way similar to how it works on Snapchat.
If you want to send an Expiring Media message, all you have to do is select the 'view once' option before sending a piece of media to someone else, and then when it appears they'll only be allowed to view it when they're in the chat.
Upon leaving the chat window, they'll receive a message that states: "This media will disappear once you leave this chat."
Once the person returns to the chat, they'll receive a message telling them the photo they've viewed has now been deleted.
So, it's going to be a little while before this feature is rolled out, but it is believed to be in development as part of the WhatsApp beta for Android 2.20.2011 version of the social messaging app.
We don't actually know when the public release of the feature will be, but it will surely add an extra level of safety for those of us - which is probably quite a few people - who send things and then later regret the decision.
These sorts of features are usually gradually rolled out as a way of testing that the feature works and is helpful, so over the next few months it is worth keeping your eyes peeled to see if you can utilise the feature.
WhatsApp is far and away the world's most popular messaging app, with more than two billion monthly users from around the globe.
That means that development can sometimes be a slow process as introducing new features to the app - which is owned by Facebook - can be time-consuming and potentially risky if there are a heap of kinks to be ironed out.
However, WhatsApp needs to keep active and changing to remain ahead of the other messaging apps on the market.
Obviously, Snapchat already supports disappearing messages, and has done since 2011, and Instagram - another app in the Facebook portfolio - also allows people to send disappearing direct messages.
These features have also been developed in such a way that the person receiving the message cannot take a screenshot and simply save the photo to their phone or device without the sender being notified.