To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Date Brits must pay 'visa' fee to enter 30 countries including Italy and Spain

Date Brits must pay 'visa' fee to enter 30 countries including Italy and Spain

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is another travel barrier for Brits to deal with

With the UK weather as miserable as it is, there is no wonder thousands of us jet off to some of our European neighbours for a bit of sun.

If travelling wasn't already stressful enough, Brits heading abroad will have another headache to deal with a lot sooner than they think.

British holiday goers will soon have to pay for a travel permit to visit certain European destinations.

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) were originally set to be introduced in 2022 as a result of Brexit.

Soon Brits will have to pay a 'visa' fee to enter 30 countries.

After many delays the likelihood is that they will now come into play after the 2024 Paris Olympics.

While those under 18 and over 70 can apply for the permit free of charge, everyone else will have to pay €7 (around £6) to travel to the EU.

As per the UK parliament: "ETIAS will apply to British and other non-EU/non Schengen country citizens travelling to all EU Member States, with the exception of Ireland. It will also apply for travel to the four non-EU Schengen countries."

The permit will all be done electronically, and will allow the tracking of those who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen Area, but do not have freedom of movement.

The ETIAS website adds that 'citizens from the United Kingdom will be required to complete an ETIAS application prior to boarding an aircraft, sea carrier, or coach vehicle for Europe, and this includes travellers who will only be transiting in Europe en route to other destinations'.

Visitors will be denied entry to many popular destinations, like France, Spain and Italy, if they have not purchased the permit - something that must be presented to passport control on arrival.

ETIAS will give UK citizens the right to stay in Europe for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

The permit will be required to enter Spain from 2024.

And while it may be an added expense many could do without, the good news is that the permit is valid for three years or until the holder’s passport expires - whichever is sooner - so you'll be able to travel to Europe as many times as you like in that time before it needs renewing again.

The application process will be done all online, something that is intended to speed things along.

It is possible to be denied an ETIAS - with some of the reasons why you may not be eligible including convicted criminals and those on travel watchlists.

You are probably now thinking what countries will require ETIAS to enter from 2024.

Well, here it is:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
Featured Image Credit: SUSANNAH IRELAND/AFP via Getty Images / PAU BARRENA/AFP via Getty Images

Topics: Travel, UK News