• Home
  • News
  • Entertainment
  • LAD Originals

U OK M8?
Free To Be
Extinct
Citizen Reef

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert

People Are Pretty Divided Over The New Snapchat Map Update

Published 
| Last updated 

People Are Pretty Divided Over The New Snapchat Map Update

Social media has made for some pretty interesting developments in our lives. We're now at a point where we can learn what celebrities had for breakfast or watch a friend live stream a concert and feel like you're there.

But there are some technological progressions which can get... well, kind of intimate, and one such update has even got some boyfriends into the shit. Snapchat's new update means users can now see where their friends are geographically at any one time.

So now you can't lie to your mates or partner about where you are, because they'll know.

Advert

And also this:

Credit: Twitter

Oops. I wouldn't want to be him when she clocks on.

Advert

The new update seems to have been divided over whether it's cool or scary.


Advert



Advert

The new software is only a few days old and it has already prompted a warning from UK police about potential dangers.

Preston Police's statement reads: "Obviously this may cause concern for certain users, particularly those who have young children who use the app. To change the settings, pinch the screen when the app is open and this will load the map. When you do it for the first time it should ask you if you want to activate ghost mode. If it doesn't, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner, where you will be able to tick a box putting ghost mode on."

The social media company has been quick to counter the concern, telling Fox News: "The safety of our community is very important to us and we want to make sure that all Snapchatters, parents and educators have accurate information about how the Snap Map works.

Advert

"Snapchatters can choose exactly who they want to share their location with, if at all, and can change that setting at any time."

So, if you're concerned about people peeking into your private life, either don't download the new update, or change the setting to 'Ghost Mode'.

Featured Image Credit: PA

Topics: Social Media, Snapchat

Stewart Perrie
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Entertainment

James Corden Updates Fans On Potential Return Of Gavin And Stacey

2 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

News

Hocus Pocus 2 Trailer Has Just Dropped

5 hours ago