You Will Soon Be Able To 'Take A Break' From Your Ex On Facebook After You Split Up
That awkward feeling of having to look through your exes photos and statuses after you've split up with them could be a thing of the past thanks to a new Facebook feature.
The so-called 'Take A Break' option will let users erase their ex and avoid being reminded of post-dumping.
"Millions of people break up on Facebook each week, changing their relationship status from 'in a relationship' to 'single'," said Facebook.
"Research on peoples' experiences after break-ups suggests that offline and online contact, including seeing an ex-partner's activities, can make emotional recovery more difficult."
Ha ha there's really a "take a break" icon on Facebook....get the fuck out of here! It's not that deep homie! #ohword
- Elijah Howard (@ElijahHoward) December 18, 2017
Love This! If You Don't Want All the Details of the Latest Holiday. It's Easier Than Ever to Take a Break From Annoying Facebook Friends #socialmedia #facebook https://t.co/z1Pe2QcjWM
- Christine Salberg (@Innov8ivePlanit) December 18, 2017
Good idea, helps with healing. Facebook 'Take a Break' lets you erase your ex https://t.co/yyxmRUpY5I #breakup #healing
- Rachel :star::stars: (@gymrachel) December 18, 2017
More Like ThisMore Like This
Credit: PA Images
The social media platform breaks the new feature down as:
- See less of someone: Limit where you see someone on Facebook. If you choose to see them less, their posts and posts they're tagged in won't appear in your News Feed and you won't be prompted to message them or tag them in photos. To see their posts again, you can follow them.
- Limit someone's ability to see your posts and posts you're tagged in: Hide your posts from the person you want to take a break from. They'll be added to your Restricted List and will only see posts you tag them in or share publicly.
- Edit who can see past posts: Limit who can see posts (example: photos, status updates, videos, etc.) you're tagged in, or that you've tagged a person in by changing your privacy settings. The posts can only be seen by the people that are tagged in them. These posts won't appear on your timeline anymore, but will still appear on other peoples timelines and search results unless the person who originally posted them removes them. You'll also be removed as a contributor from any shared albums you have with the person you want to take a break from.
There will also be a 'snooze' option, allowing users to hide a person, page or group for 30 days, which will mean you don't have to permanently unfollow or unfriend them after a falling out.
Featured Image Credit: PA Images