KSI stripped of Joe Fournier win after fans claim he 'cheated' KO
| Last updated
KSI has been stripped of his Joe Fournier win after fans claim that he 'cheated' during a knock-out.
It took the British YouTuber just two rounds to emerge from the ring as victor as the pair battled it out last week (13 May), and the results have since proved to be highly controversial, with many viewers insisting that KSI be disqualified over 'cheating'.
And PBA Boxing, the organisation in charge of sanctioning the fight, has since addressed the claims.
The YouTuber was subsequently crowned the winner but it didn't take long at all before his win was called into question.
The ringside drama started after viewers were left outraged and claimed that KSI should have been disqualified for seemingly using his elbow to knock out Fournier in the second round of the boxing match.
His competitor also reckoned that the YouTuber should have been disqualified, saying he 'felt' his elbow 'go past my face'.
And Jake Paul, even weighed in on the matter after KSI released a statement disputing the allegations.
KSI's statement said: "I worked very hard for this fight and had an intense and gruelling camp. There’s no better feeling than being in that ring and having my hand raised in front of my loyal and amazing fans who I appreciate so much.
"Unfortunately the victory which was inevitable no matter what, is tarnished and I hate that. It sucks!
"After landing my overhand he was pretty much out on his feet and I went for a short right hook as Joe clinched me and fell into me."
The statement continued: "I landed that hook and my glove made contact but appears to have been followed by unintentional contact with my forearm.
"I’m gutted that it’s not as clean a win as I wanted and it feels like it diminishes my hard work with my trainers," he went on.
"Either way I hope you enjoyed the show and appreciate the support. Sorry to all the fans disappointed with it. No one is more so than me."
Now, PBA Boxing, have stripped KSI of the win and ruled the a no-contest following a 'reviewed decision'.
They confirmed that 'after a thorough review of the evidence and representations, along with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the Supervisor in charge) and an eminent Barrister where necessary, Mr Gareth Morris [referee of the fight] came to an independent decision'.
They added: "Even though KSI was winning the fight, the blow with the forearm/elbow has been found to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will follow, it has been decided that the contest is declared a No Decision in accordance with the Rules.
"The PBA has conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance throughout as the bout was sanctioned and regulated under the unified rules of boxing."
"We have ensured that this process was conducted swiftly and fairly to uphold the integrity of boxing," the statement concluded.